KUALA LUMPUR: The Sessions Court here has exempted 33 people charged with unlawful assembly in Jalan Parlimen from attending court for the setting of case management dates leading up to their trial.
Judge Mat Ghani Abdullah allowed an application by counsel Latheefa Koya for the exemption, after she requested it on the grounds that there are too many people involved, while DPP Amira Sariaty Zainal did not object to it.
Rembau PKR chief Badrul Hisham Shaharin, 35, or better known as Chegubard, Annie Ooi Siew Lan, 67, better known as Auntie Bersih, and student activist Adam Adli Abd Halim, 24, are among the 33 jointly charged with becoming a member of the assembly which caused public nuisance in Jalan Parlimen between 9.15am and 11.25am on June 24.
Other than those mentioned above, the full list of the accused are Norazimah Mohd Nor, 38, Muhammad Aliff Hafiz Zainuddin, 22, Ahmad Shauqie Abdul Aziz, 21, Muhammad Al Fateh Abdul Adzis, 22, Ahmad Syukri Che Ab Razab, 28, Mohammad Yaser Abdul Rahman, 27, Muhammad Aiman Hakim Zainal, 20, Lim Sue Pei, 56, Mah Chee Hoe, 22, Tong Chan Sang, 55, Abdullah Hassan, 61, Muhammad Akram Ahmar, 22, Muhamad Hafizuddin Yahya, 22, and Mohd Zairi Shafaai, 27.
The rest are Mohd Sofian MatDali, 25, Mohd Musab Abdul Habib, 24, Ahmad Hizami Mohd Hazir, 28, Muhammad Safwan [email protected], 24, M. Mythreyar, 25, Lew Chee Kong, 27, Ungku Amer Faez Ungku Fauzie, 19, Hong Chee Wang, 37, Norazizi A. Aziz, 33, Shariful Azmir Mustaf, 29, Amirul Syazwan Narzaruddin Jamil, 74, Edy Noor Reduan, 32, Md Sani Md Shah, 35, Wan Noor Faril Azli Wan Haron, 22, Mohd Fauzy Mohd Yusof, 28, and Ekhsan Bukharee Badarul Hisham, 22.
They are charged under Section 143 of the Penal Code, which carries a maximum jail term of six months, a fine, or both upon conviction.
Seventeen of them also claimed trial to rioting at a road leading to the Parliament building on the same day at about 11.25am.
They are charged under Section 147 of the same Act which carries a maximum two-year jail term, a fine, or both upon conviction.
The 17 were Chegubard, Adam Adli, Norazimah, Muhammad Aliff, Ahmad Shauqie, Muhammad Al Fateh, Ahmad Syukri, Mohammad Yaser, Lim, Muhammad Akram, Muhamad Hafizuddin, Muhammad Safwan, Mythreyar, Edy Noor, Md Sani, Wan Noor Faril Azli and Ekhsan Bukharee.
Other than Latheefa, counsel for the accused included P.G. Cyril, Farhan Read, Chong Yin Xin, Eric Paulsen, Michell Yesudas and Mohd Razlan Jalaludin.
The court fixed Sept 18 for the next case management.